Hands-on classes are opening state by state. Get a text when yours opens →

Compare training

Supplier classes vs independent schools

Most hands-on epoxy classes in the US are run by product suppliers. A smaller number are independent. Here is how the two compare on price, length, what they teach and what they expect from you afterward.

Granite gray flake floor in a tall open shop building with a mezzanine and wood posts
Granite flake, open shop with mezzanine More floors

Supplier-run classes

Held by a distributor or store that sells coatings. Usually one or two days, often with materials included, and taught on the host's products. Sometimes discounted or credited back against product. 15 of the providers we list.

Manufacturer classes

Run by the company that makes the coating, to train installers on its systems; sometimes part of becoming an approved installer or dealer. 3 of the providers we list.

Independent schools

Not tied to a product line. The ones we list range from one-day classes to three- to five-day academies, priced to pay for themselves rather than to sell product. 7 of the providers we list.

Price per day

What each published class costs per day on the slab

The first published price divided by the number of class days. A rough guide: it ignores travel, materials included or not, and how many hours of each day are hands-on.

ProviderTypeWhereLengthPublished pricePer dayHow we got it
One Stop EpoxySupplierOrlando, FL2 days$495about $248$495 ÷ 2 days
ResinForce (CleanPro Supply)SupplierCincinnati, OH; Rochester and Buffalo, NY; Indianapolis, IN; Jacksonville, FL2 days$500 ($400 each for 2 or more)about $250$500 ÷ 2 days
Epoxy DepotSupplierSupplier stores in FL (Jacksonville, Tampa), TX (Fort Worth), OH (Bowling Green), NC (Charlotte, Raleigh/Durham), TN (Nashville), IL (Joliet, the Chicago-area store), PA (Lebanon), MD (Baltimore), SC (Duncan) and more2–3 days (Intro to Epoxy)About $750 where posted; varies by storeabout $250$750 ÷ 3 days
Deco-Crete SupplySupplierColumbus, OH2 days$849.99 ($100 off early-bird)about $425$849.99 ÷ 2 days
The Concrete ProtectorSupplierLima, OH2 days$499 deposit, returned as store credit—Length or price not stated as a single figure
Xtreme Polishing Systems (Polished Concrete University)SupplierPompano Beach and Orlando, FL; Euless (Dallas–Fort Worth), TX; Los Angeles, CA; Las Vegas, NV; Oklahoma City, OK; Cedar Rapids, IA; Milwaukee, WI5 days (3 days in Los Angeles and Oklahoma City)$1,750 for 5 days; $1,350 for 3 days; 15% off extra attendeesabout $350$1,750 ÷ 5 days
XPS New York City (FlooringClasses.com)SupplierGarfield, NJ3 days, monthly$1,500about $500$1,500 ÷ 3 days
Epoxy Classes NYIndependentJohnstown, NY3 days (Friday to Sunday)$1,400 ($700 deposit)—Length or price not stated as a single figure
U.S. Resin SupplySupplierLos Angeles, Anaheim, Sacramento, San Jose and Visalia, CA; Las Vegas, NV; Montgomery, IL; Fort Lauderdale, FL2 days (Intro to Epoxy); shorter system classes$499–999 for the 2-day introfrom $250$499 ÷ 2 days
E2UManufacturerPhoenix, AZ; Anaheim and Rancho Cordova, CA1 day$150–299 by locationfrom $150$150 ÷ 1 day
Concrete & Coatings SchoolIndependentGarland, TX5 daysNot published (application required)—Length or price not stated as a single figure
FloorRescue AcademyIndependentDallas, TX (plus travelling classes)3–4 daysNot published—Length or price not stated as a single figure
New Era Epoxy AcademyIndependentSpring (Houston) and Austin, TX4 days$1,899, materials includedabout $475$1,899 ÷ 4 days
Concrete Floor ShopSupplierHouston, TX1 day$200, lunch includedabout $200$200 ÷ 1 day
Action Epoxy TrainingIndependentFort Worth, TX1 day$250, paid at the doorabout $250$250 ÷ 1 day
Versatile Building ProductsManufacturerLewisville (Dallas area), TX1 day, first Saturday monthly$99about $99$99 ÷ 1 day
Platinum Concrete Coatings of TexasSupplierKaty (Houston area), TX1–2 days$150about $75$150 ÷ 2 days
MOY FloorFXSupplierYork, PA1 day$275about $275$275 ÷ 1 day
Paradise Concrete SolutionsSupplierLocation set per class1 day$200about $200$200 ÷ 1 day
Coatings For Industry (CFI)ManufacturerLocation set per class2 days$750 first attendee, $550 each extraabout $375$750 ÷ 2 days
Integrity Garage FloorsIndependentKent, WA3 days, monthly$950about $317$950 ÷ 3 days
Blessed By Chris AcademyIndependentAtlanta, GA4 daysSee provider—Length or price not stated as a single figure
Legacy Epoxy SupplySupplierDenver, CO2½ days$900—Length or price not stated as a single figure
Lone Star Decorative Concrete SupplySupplierDenver, COSee providerNot published—Length or price not stated as a single figure
515 Decorative Concrete SupplySupplierBroomfield, COOn requestOn request—Length or price not stated as a single figure

Prices change; confirm with the provider before you book. Listed to compare, not as endorsements or partnerships.

Side by side

The trade-offs

Supplier or manufacturer classIndependent school
Typical length1–2 days; a few suppliers run 3–5 day courses1 day for basics; 3–5 days for the academies
Total priceLower; sometimes credited back against productHigher, because the class is longer
Products usedThe host's lineThe school's choice, sometimes several brands
After the classA supplier relationship, technical support on those products, often discountsVaries: some offer ongoing support or a graduate network
Business sideUsually a session at mostUsually a session at most
Best forContractors who will buy from that supplier anywayPeople who want more systems and slab time before choosing a supplier

Examples: Deco-Crete Supply offers a product discount during its class; The Concrete Protector returns its $499 class deposit as store credit; One Stop Epoxy includes materials and lunch. Each is a reasonable deal if you would buy there anyway.

Before you book

Questions to ask any class

  • How many hours will I spend on real slabs, versus watching demos?
  • Which systems will I install myself: flake, metallic, quartz?
  • How many students per trainer?
  • Whose products are used, and is there an expectation that I buy them?
  • Is moisture testing and surface prep taught, or only application?
  • Who teaches pricing, quoting and selling, and for how long?
  • What help do I get after class, when my first job goes sideways?

See every class we list, by provider or by state.

Where Epoxy Business School fits

Our classes are two days on real slabs with a partner trainer. Before you arrive, you've watched every step of the installation on video in The Epoxy Playbook, and you can replay any of it afterward, so class time goes to doing the work. The business side comes with it. We're independent: no product line, no territory fee.

Get a text when a class opens

Questions

Supplier vs independent classes: FAQ

Are supplier-run epoxy classes worth it?

Often, yes, if you plan to buy from that supplier anyway. They are usually the cheapest hands-on option per day, and many include materials. The trade-off is that you learn one product line, and the business side gets little time.

Why are independent epoxy schools more expensive?

They usually run longer than a one- or two-day supplier class, and they are not paid for by product sales. Per day, the independents we list cost about the same as supplier classes; the total is higher mainly because the academies run longer.

Do I have to buy the supplier’s products after the class?

No, but the incentives point that way: some classes offer product discounts during the class, and at least one returns the class deposit as store credit. Use what works for your market and your warranty.

Which kind of class teaches pricing and sales?

Few of either kind lead with it. Some list “knowing what to charge” or business tips, but pricing, quoting, the sales call and warranties are rarely more than a session. That gap is what The Epoxy Playbook covers before an Epoxy Business School class.

Get on the slab

Hands-on classes open state by state. Get a text when one opens near you.

Join the class waitlist